Sam´s new jeans

19 08 2009

I finally get to finish making his jeans today. It is a jumper style. I cut the lower leg part of my worn-out jeans.  I can´t wait to buy a pair of new buttons tomorrow, I just used the largest buttons I have in my stash. :)

Sam is a knitted doll, wearing a knitted pullover of various cable knits and a 3-cornered hat with pompoms and a  scarf of matching colors.

Sam´s new jeans

Sam´s new jeans

I took a photo of my knitted and crocheted toys. Totoro and Amineko are free amigurumi (crochet) designs from the internet. Click on the links to make your own!
My Sam is a simple knitted doll from a knitting book, the form looks like a gingerbread man. Then I designed his over all look, his hair, his face, his hat and pullover and jeans.
Amineko, Sam and Totoro

Amineko, Sam and Totoro





Montmellick Sampler Keyboard cover

19 08 2009

Started August 17, 2009

Finished August 22, 2009

After 17 hours.

Design by Pamela Strudwick from the german edition of “Heirloom Embroidery” (1997, Murdoch Books).

I took out my sewing machine 2 days ago and sewed some fabric scraps along the raw edges. I also trimmed a large pillow case to fit the computer monitor. I use fabric scraps and old embroidered pillow cases to cover things like the computer monitor and the keyboard. They are scraps from old embroidery projects. Since I am used to making large embroidered pictures, I did not know what to do with them before. But since 2 days ago, I thought, I also like embroidered home accessories. I started looking at magazines and books again and realized most of the designs are home and sewing accessories. They never attracted me before. But now, I am starting to consider embroidering all that I could stitch on in my room. lol.

I put the 2 towel border designs together. They basically have stitches that I have not tried before. It says Montmellick whitework, and to use DMC 4-strand cotton threads. But since I did not find any here, and I don´t feel like buying online these days, I just bought a (V+H) vy lt ecru to match the cream fabric. It is not whitework, but it is monochromatic. I thought it looks great. I like the idea of monochromatic embroidery, baby blue on baby blue, baby pink on baby pink . They create darker shades on their own.

First photo of  work-in-progress:

WIP Montmellick Whitework Aug 21 Aft 12H

WIP Montmellick Whitework Aug 21 Aft 12H

Photos of finished Keyboard cover:
Montmellick Whitework Keyboard Cover with book

Montmellick Whitework Keyboard Cover with book

Montmellick Whitework Keyboard cover with monitor

Montmellick Whitework Keyboard cover with monitor

complete view of the whitework with keyboard and mouse

complete view of the whitework with keyboard and mouse








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

