Mutya ng Telili (Lady of Mt. Telili) (2007)

12 04 2010

This design won 2nd place at the Fiesta Nationwide Needlecraft Competition 2007 organized by Anchor (Coats) and the Needlecraft Association of the Philippines. The winning entries will be exhibited on May 16 for a whole week. I will upload photos of the other winning entries later after the exhibit.

Finished after 215 Hours. Size: 38cm x 47cm on 28ct natural linen. Fertility Belt is over one thread. I used Anchor threads specifically for the contest. I used chalk beads and metallic gold thread for the accessories.

As I was starting to embroider, I changed the design of the necklace and added bracelets. I also added anklets to both feet. I used cut sequins as glass mirrors on the headdress. On the lower right side is my signature. This was my first finished project in 2007.

I grew up watching dances of this ethnic tribe during festivals. Mount Telili is one of the higher grounds around Lake Sebu, the home of the T’bolis and the pineapple, represents Dole Philippines, which has started to operate about 15 years ago, causing the T’bolis to start leaving their ancestral homes. The T’bolis are the original inhabitants of the area. They are now being civilized (also evangelized into Christianity) and their culture is slowly disappearing.


Here is my work area now. I have actual costumes to inspire me.


These are just one of costumes which are in my collection. I have 3 of such beadwoven belts and a very heavy one made of brass. The malong (tubular cloth or sari) is just one of the many designs the tribe has. Part of the cross-stitched embroidered blouse is shown in the picture. Each blouse is unique.

Handarbeit / Stickerei in Berlin, Deutschland.

Actions

Information

6 responses

12 04 2010
Dwayne Wolff

I like your work, and love the way you show your process. Congratulations on your award.

1 06 2010
worksofhands

Thank you Dwayne!

24 07 2010
MVStitcher

This is a truly outstanding piece of work. The woman’s pose and expression is a picture of grace and beauty. Congratulations on a fine piece (and the award of course)!

12 02 2011
Alexandra

I think this is a masterpiece! very beautiful!

13 02 2011
worksofhands

Thank you Alexandra!

14 02 2011
Alexandra

your most welcome! I find your blog very inspiring, I’ll look again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

