Ikea shelves put up for mounted embroideries and views of my work place/bedroom

16 08 2009

Today I decided to put the 4 white shelves I bought from Ikea 2 or 3 years ago. These are 3inches deep shelves which can be connected to form a longer row of shelving system for  frames and small objects.

Aug 16 Bed side and shelves

On the side table I have Jane Nicholas´Stumpwork book and Royal School of Needlework book plus a japanese craft book. My first four embroideries on the series Peace already find their places on the shelves.

Aug 16 Work area (2)

My largest embroidery is Thea Gouverneur´s Birdhouse, I placed it on another of the white shelf. Next to it is my long and short needlepoint of Elian McCready´s Hollyhocks and Peonies. On the other side of the wall hangs a Benguet backstrap loom, finished but uncut, with all the wooden parts used in weaving the fabric. On the table frame stand, I still have the WIP of my Yellow Sampler/ Cutwork or Drawnwork stitches.  I am working on the bear´s body now.

Aug 16 Work area

I use a cylinder to raise my work a bit higher. I wind the ribbons on glass jars.🙂 I use cotton buds plastic boxes for my needles. I use a vanishing fabric pen to draw the designs. I also use permanent waterproof pen if I know I would be able to cover the lines entirely with stitches, like on this project.

Aug 16 Bed side and shelves (2)

I like handmade ethnic or native products. This shelf has my favorite books, tools and finished projects from embroidery to sculpting to painting.  I have too many interests and have tried to develop so many skills from so many fields (theater, opera, piano, ballet, massage therapy, painting, etc.), that it was extremely necessary for me to make a decision to improve on one field only, and I chose embroidery.


Actions

Information

4 responses

17 08 2009
Jan

Wow you have a very nice work station area for your needle work. I’m so envious. What happen to all your TW’s and why aren’t they on display????

Like

17 08 2009
worksofhands

Hi Jan! Thanks. But I actually have a very simple hobby area, compared to Martha Stewart´s Craft Stations. hehe. All my other works are packed already. I am bringing them next week to an antique textile restorator, far away from Berlin. I am hoping to get an apprenticeship in her atelier, and will show my works to her. On Wednesday, a lady from the german embroidery guild will visit me and check my work. We will be talking about founding the Berlin chapter of the guild.

Like

18 08 2009
Jan

Wow you certainly have been busy with you stitching career…. Good luck with the apprentice interview!!!!

Like

18 08 2009
worksofhands

Thanks for the good luck. This will be my last and final try on going into a stitching career. As I have given up having a career in theater, in music, and in painting, during the last 10 years, I am a bit afraid, I might end up giving up textile as well.🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

