The Spirit of Knitting (knitted doll)

4 09 2009

Yes, the spirit came to me 2 days ago and I have been busy designing and knitting him. lol!

A friend emailed me and asked if I would like to join a knitting contest. It has to be 4inches high and an ornament. I supposed it is for a christmas issue of a needlework magazine.

Anyway, I made initial drafts and develop the design.

P1010015

The patterns: I found this basic doll  of Carol Meldrum of the Knitted Icons book. I modified it so it would be 4 inches high. I designed the hat, scarf and would-be gown. I used the stitches in Reader´s Digest Complete Guide to Needlework.

The materials: I used a perle coton for the basic doll. A friend of a friend gave up crocheting a long time ago and I received his stash of perle coton. Fiberfill for stuffing. I mixed 2 strands DMC linen(ecru) with 1 strand Madeira Opal metallic thread (blue). The face details are made with 2 strands DMC navy blue. I used the finest double end knitting needles, those used for socks.

Work in Progress

Work in Progress

Then, I woke up today, Sept. 4, 2009, realizing my stitches are not that even after all. I am just not satisfied with my uneven tension. I still have to learn a lot. And so I gave up halfway and decided to keep the Spirit of Knitting to myself. I do not want to finish his blue lace jacket anymore. To make the enchanted needles, I took 2 toothpicks (with decorative ends) and cut it shorter, shaped the tips, and glued it to his hands. I made an enchanted ball of yarn with DMC linen thread and glued it on his other hand.

The finished Spirit of Knitting

The finished Spirit of Knitting

The Spirit of Knitting appears before Sam, the knitted doll.🙂
"You wished to be a real human? Sorry, wrong number."

"You wished to be a real human? Sorry, wrong number."

 

"Of course, you can´t see my clothes. It is enchanted too. You have to use your imagination. heehee!"

"Of course, you can´t see my clothes. It is enchanted too. You have to use your imagination. heehee!"


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

