Übungsspitze (Practice lace)

7 01 2010

Designed by Ulla Fagerlin, from the book “Klöppeln: Tradition und neue Entwürfe” (Bobbin lace: Tradition and new Design)

white DMC perle coton 12 & 5 (gimp)

January 6, 2009, I felt like wanting to try bobbin lace making again, and took out my cookie pillow and bobbins. Instructions are in german. Found the book at the American Memorial Library. The books has lots of small projects, also by Ulla, and I am going to try making them.

This lace was perfect for refreshing the stitches and techniques in torchon lace making I have learned so far. There are still lots of techniques to learn. Torchon and the Russian Tape Laces are the easiest, in my opinion.

It can also be used as a bookmarker.


Actions

Information

4 responses

8 01 2010
apinnick

Beautiful work! I didn’t realise that you started a blog around the same time as I did. I look forward to seeing more of your work.

Like

8 01 2010
worksofhands

spindex, nice to see you here!🙂
yes, it was only not long ago, when I started this blog. I am changing my habits about posting WIP pictures. I noticed lately, I have been posting only photos of the finished works. Do you have a blog too?

Like

1 02 2010
nicky williams

Hi,
I just wanted to say how much I admire your amazing work!
I enjoy working with textile art and embellishing, but your work is so individual, and your design work is excellent!
Thank you so much for displaying your work!
Your work is very inspirational!!

Best regards
nicky williams

Like

1 02 2010
worksofhands

THank you nicky!
I myself am always been inspired by the needlework online community. It is my wish to inspire others to be creative as well, to discover and develop their style in designwork or artwork.
Vincent

Like

Leave a Reply

