Botanical Specimens: Corncockle and Dragonfly

11 07 2010

Started: July 1, 2010

Finished: July 11, 2010

No. of hours: 21 hours

Materials: cotton threads, silk threads, metallic threads, wool yarn, rayon threads, wire, organza, organdie, fake leather, muslin, beads, white satin cloth

Finally, I am trying the very intimidating technique of stumpwork. I am using Jane Nicolas´book Medieval Stumpwork Flora.

I learned a lot about materials and Jane Nicolas´style. I also gained confidence. I will try to make her other projects.


Actions

Information

11 responses

11 07 2010
meri

Congratulations, Vincent, it looks wonderful

Like

12 07 2010
worksofhands

Thank you Meri.

Like

12 07 2010
Jacqui

Well done Vincent. It looks beautiful. I love the work of Jane Nicholas but at the moment I am woking on Alison Cole’s butterfly.

Like

12 07 2010
Samanta

Hi, Vince! Great work indeed! And in only 10 days, I wish I could embroider that fast… what did you find the most difficult in stumpwork? I’m sure that when I get my hands into that, materials will be a problem for starters…
I love the dragonfly wings.🙂

Like

12 07 2010
worksofhands

Thanks Samanta!
I discovered that it is actually a quick technique. I think the most difficult but the most important part would be the parts with the wires. About the thickness of the wire, if too thin and too soft, it will not hold its shape. If too thick it will be too hard to bend and the work will not look fine. If you follow Jane Nicolas´instructions, your work will be fine. I actually used almost 100% alternative materials. The result has a different colorway, but because it is the same design, the change of colors does not matter. good luck with your stumpwork project.

Like

15 07 2010
Inspiration: works of hands · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

[…] Vincent Valiente of works of hands blog lets us peek at his first stumpwork attempt. Isn’t it spectacular. Just look at the dragonfly’s wings! I believe this guy can stitch anything! See more on his blog post. […]

Like

15 07 2010
Coeur de freesia

Very nice ! I really love your bug, it looks real.
As a first attempt, it is wonderful !

Like

16 07 2010
worksofhands

Thank you elena33!

Like

16 07 2010
Rosali

Estas flores son fantásticas, gracias por mostrar.

Like

16 07 2010
Mary Corbet

Wow, Vincent! Another gorgeous finish! Beautiful job!!

~MC

Like

16 07 2010
worksofhands

thank you Mary. Your book review inspired me to buy the book. ^_^

Like

Leave a Reply

